The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins Review

22557272Recommended for: anyone wanting a truly thrilling book

Read from August 02 to 11, 2015

★★★★☆


Spoiler Review here


Synopsis

Okay, wow, this book was very strange. I had high expectations because of the comparisons to Gone Girl and I honestly didn’t like that I went into it knowing it would be similar. It kind of took away from some of the big things that happened in this novel.

However, this was a crazy book.The beginning didn’t totally lure me in, and I wasn’t going to continue. But then I just thought it was so interesting how Rachel would sit on the train and watch people, and come up with stories of their lives. I mean, that’s pretty strange. And the fact that the readers have to deal with an unreliable narrator makes this novel even more intriguing. I love that this book was told in varying viewpoints. It’s interesting to see the story through different eyes.

All I knew going into this book was that Rachel rode the train every day, and then one day saw something she shouldn’t have. This is honestly such an interesting main character to develop. I really felt bad for Rachel when I learned more of her story, but it was so frustrating how it was hard to trust her when she kept getting drunk and blacking out incidents of her life.

I’m not really sure how much more to say without giving away this extremely thrilling novel. I thought I knew what was going to happen, but I was shocked. It really was an exciting read. I’m giving it four stars because I definitely loved the thrills and shocks of this strange mystery but not enough to give it five. I still highly recommend reading this.

Altogether I quite enjoyed this scary but thrilling novel and I can’t wait to see the movie adaptation.

*Spoiler review above, sorry for the late post*
What did you think of The Girl on the Train?
Share your thoughts

