Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer Review

12283261Recommended for: lovers of fairy tales and fun stories

Read from February 08 to June 02, 2015

★★★★☆


Spoiler Review here


Synopsis

 

This is the first book I’ve read by Jodi Picoult, and given that it was written with her daughter, I have a feeling it’s quite different than all of her other novels.

I actually quite enjoyed this story. Since the synopsis includes a fairy tale, it may seem like this book is too young for teens. But I actually really liked the world that was created in Between the Lines. I’ve never read a story with the main character falling in love with a fictional fairy tale character, and I think that’s just such an intriguing premise.

Delilah was a quirky main character, and for the most part, I enjoyed reading her chapters. Same goes for Oliver: his chapters were especially fun to read because he was inside the fairy tale, and to learn what it’s like for him “behind the scenes” was cool and made me think of a “Toy Story” kind of idea for books.

Overall, the plot was fun and entertaining. It’s clear Delilah would do anything to be with Oliver, and I loved following her through this journey. And I like the way it was written because not only is it told in both Oliver and Delilah’s perspectives, but the reader also gets to read parts of the fairy tale Oliver is trapped in. So I think this book should be rated four stars because it’s entertaining and very different from anything I’ve read before.

*Spoiler review above*

What did you think of Between the Lines?

Share your thoughts

