Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn Review

19288043Recommended for:  lovers of mystery and thriller!!!!
Read from September 02 to October 01, 2014

★★★★★


Spoiler Review here


Synopsis

4.8 Stars

Whoa.

Oh my goodness.

So let me start off this review saying I originally had no intentions of reading Gone Girl. My movie-obsessed brother showed me the movie adaptation trailer multiple times and every time I would continue to say how creepy the movie looked and how I would never read the book/see the movie. But, oh my, I’m glad I chose to read the book!

I usually only ever read young adult novels, so because Gone Girl is an adult novel, it was very out of my comfort zone. But I couldn’t just stop reading it once I started! First of all, the book starts off like this:

When I think of my wife, I always think of her head. The shape of it, to begin with. The very first time I saw her, it was the back of the head I saw, and there was something lovely about it, the angles of it. Like a shiny, hard corn kernel or a riverbed fossil. She had what the Victorians would call a finely shaped head. You could imagine the skull quite easily.
I’d know her head anywhere. (page 3)

Um, talk about the most unusual beginning of a book I’ve ever read! Gillian Flynn had me intrigued.

Gone Girl is about a man named Nick Dunne, who’s wife Amy Elliott Dunne, goes missing on their fifth wedding anniversary. This is what intrigued me; I am a sucker for mystery novels.

This book is so so so unlike any book I’ve read before and that makes me happy! Gillian Flynn is an interesting author with a great talent for description.

I don’t even know how to condense what I feel about this book into a review. There are so many mixed emotions swarming in my mind right now. I absolutely love the way this book made me feel. I went into this book hearing that there was going to be a twist. I don’t usually like to know those kind of things before reading a book but this knowledge did not stop me from gasping at numerous events that occurred throughout this novel—legitimately gasping!

This is probably among one of the darkest and most thrilling novels I’ve read. I definitely encourage all you mystery and thriller lovers to READ IT!

**Spoiler Review is available through the link above**

I can’t even collect all of my thoughts on this book, so I’m going to have to come back and update this review on a later date.

What did you think of Gone Girl?

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Book Beginnings Friday: Gone Girl (#2) | Bridget's Bookish Blog

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? (#6) | Bridget's Bookish Blog

Share your thoughts

