If I Stay Movie Review

If_I_Stay_posterRecommended for: anyone who liked If I Stay the book

Saw it September 01, 2014

My Rating: 6.5/10 Stars

(Not exactly sure how to rate movies…)


Synopsis

So I saw the movie If I Stay a little bit ago and have been meaning to post my review.

When I first saw the trailer I was in the middle of reading the book, and I was so excited; the trailer was very intriguing and beautiful. Then I finished the novel (review), and I did enjoy it but I wasn’t entirely amazed. So therefore, I figured I wouldn’t see the movie in theaters because I wasn’t sure I wanted to spend my money on it. To be honest, I kind of wish I didn’t.

Chloë Grace Moretz portrays the main character, Mia, and she did a wonderful job. I’m glad she was chosen for the movie. Actually, most of the casting was pretty good; I think the actors/actresses did a great job.

However, I guess it might be because I wasn’t entirely sold on the book that I did not enjoy the movie that much. The first part of the movie is actually kind of boring; I think it spent a little too much time building up to the accident. Additionally, I went to the movie with

a friend of mine who hadn’t read the novel, and she was quite confused due to the constant flashbacks. The viewer must be paying attention to the details of the movie to actually understand that these scenes are flashbacks. I think that if I hadn’t read the book first, I might have been quite confused myself. Plus, many “events” occurred very quickly in the movie so the viewers have to be constantly keeping up with the conflicts; otherwise the viewers are likely to become confused.

I’m disappointed to say that I honestly think this is one of those movie-adaptations where the trailer is better than the movie (much like City of Bones…) However, if you really did enjoy the novel or are into constant flashbacks in a movie, then I recommend you see If I Stay.

What did you think of the movie adaptation of If I Stay?

Share your thoughts

