The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen Review

9780142406250_TruthAboutFo_CV.inddRecommended for: Sarah Dessen lovers and those looking for a fun contemporary read
Read from July 27 to August 3, 2014

★★★★


Spoiler Review here


Synopsis

This is the second Sarah Dessen book I’ve read (first was Just Listen) and although people say her writing sometimes follows the same pattern, I think reading this novel just makes me want to read more of her books. Especially because I think it was quite different from Just Listen.

The Truth About Forever is a great contemporary novel, with an intriguing title and dramatic events that are fun to read. I really enjoyed the catering characters Macy meets, because they are all so different. Macy’s sister, Caroline, was also fun to read about because she’s daring and says what she wants.

I loved how this novel made me think about life differently. Just like Macy, I’m going into my senior year of high school so I could relate to a few things in her life: Her mom is hoping she will be focused on the school year and not staying out late; Macy’s worried about tests and challenging classes in the upcoming year.

One thing I always look for in a novel is continuity. Sarah Dessen did not let me down! By continuity I mean answering questions posed earlier on in the book.

I feel like at the end of a Dessen book I can’t help but feel gratitude and pure happiness. This novel was a bit eye-opening and I plan to read more of Dessen’s novels.

*If you want to read my spoiler review there is a link above*

Some quotes from the novel:

I am not a spontaneous person. But when you’re alone in the world, really alone, you have no choice but to be open to suggestions.” (59)

“But that was the problem with having the answers. It was only after you gave them that you realized they sometimes weren’t what people wanted to hear. (72)

What did you think of The Truth About Forever?

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? (#3) | Bridget's Bookish Blog

  2. Ah, I love Sarah Dessen, and I loved the Truth About Forever. Just reading the parts about catering, all the back-and-forth jokes and mayhem between all of them made me feel kind of warm and happy inside. My favorite Dessen book is This Lullaby. You should check it out, next!

    Like

Share your thoughts

