The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken Review

10576365Recommended for: those who enjoy fantasy and science fiction
Read from July 19 to 26, 2014
★★★★


Spoiler Review here


Synopsis

 

Oh my.

I don’t even know what to say, quite honestly. I’m not even sure what to rate this: 4 stars? 3.5? 4.5? I don’t know how to feel.

First off, I must say a lot of this book irritated me. And as I was reading I knew I had to write in my review about the numerous grammatical errors and typos I found in this novel, but after that ending, I can’t even bring myself to say something about that.

When I read the first couple chapters of this novel, I was hooked. The synopsis was so intriguing and I knew I was going to love this book.

But then, I got farther into the novel and started to really dislike it. I still don’t know why. I mean, I wasn’t entirely attached to the main character, Ruby, so that could be a reason. I also feel like some aspects of the plot weren’t fully explained.

Then finally, I was halfway or three-fourths of the way through this book, and I couldn’t put it down.

So as much as I didn’t like the middle part of this book, I was so hooked all the way ’til the end. BUT, I cannot say enough how upset I am with the ending.

So what am I to rate this? I have no idea. I’m not really sure it’s worthy of 4 stars, but it’s not bad enough to be 3.

*The rest of my review actually has spoilers so if you’ve read the book go ahead and check out my spoiler review in the link above; it’s much more elaborate but has major spoilers*

So now I will be crying alone in my room.

What did you think of The Darkest Minds?

5 Comments

  1. Kudos for finishing. Think it happens all too often that people (including myself) lose interest too quickly if a book gets boring for a little while. Your review of the ending does make me want to give this one a miss though!

    Like

  2. Pingback: It’s “Monday”! What are you reading? (#2) | Bridget's Bookish Blog

Share your thoughts

