Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare Review

7171637Recommended for: fans of The Mortal Instruments series
Read from December 31, 2013 to July 19, 2014
★★★★


Spoiler Review here


Synopsis

 

(4.5 Stars)

Whoa okay so I definitely really enjoyed this first novel in the Infernal Devices series (although it took me forever to finally finish it because of school and other books…). It was refreshing to be back in the world of the Shadowhunters, since the last novel I read involving them was last October (City of Glass…I know, I need to catch up!)

Tessa Gray is an interesting main character, and I believe I like her more than Clary Fray, from The Mortal Instruments. I went into reading this novel having no idea what it was really about, just that it was supposed to be a prequel novel to TMI. Therefore, to learn that the main character had an intriguing power was exciting! I also enjoyed reading about Will and Jem, and all the other inhabitants of the London institute. They’re all so lovely and different from one another.

The Infernal Devices takes place in 1878, which adds a historical feel to Clockwork Angel; this was truly interesting. I usually do not like historical fiction, but since this novel was more of fantasy, it was not bad at all! I actually quite liked how Tessa seemed so old-fashioned and how her and Will would quote literature from their era! It was pretty cool.

The rest of my review contains spoilers, so if you want to read my spoiler review, check out the link above!

*I don’t think you need to read the Mortal Instruments series before reading this book, but it makes it more fun since there are so many references to places and people throughout!

What did you think of Clockwork Angel?
4 Comments

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? (#1) | Bridget's Bookish Blog

Share your thoughts

